Search Our Site 
Image of Norfolk, MA County SealJohn M. GillisPeter H. CollinsFrancis W. O'Brien

County Commissioners


The executive authority of Norfolk County is vested in the board of County Commissioners. The three Commissioners are elected for  four-year terms, with only one permitted from any one city or town. The current Commissioners are:


Francis W. O'Brien, of Dedham, Chairman, has served as a Commissioner since 2003. Commissioner O'Brien has served in many civic organizations and in Dedham's town government, including six years as Chairman of the Board of Selectmen.  A three sport athlete during his years at Dedham High School, Commissioner O'Brien is a United States Navy veteran. 

John M. Gillis of Quincy, has served as a Commissioner since 1993. Formerly the City Clerk of the City of Quincy, he is a graduate of Northeastern University and Bentley College.  Commissioner Gillis is a World War II veteran of the United State Marine Corps

Peter H. Collins, of Milton, has served as a Commissioner since 1995. A graduate of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and Suffolk University Law School, Commissioner Collins is a principal of the Quincy law firm of Collins and Collins.



Norfolk County Commissioners
614 High Street, Dedham, MA 02027-0310
Telephone: 781-461-6105

Americans with Disabilities Act Notice
In accordance with the requirements of title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 ("ADA"), the County of Norfolk will not discriminate against qualified individuals with disabilities on the basis of disability in its services, programs, or activities. This website attempts specifically to comply with ADA website accessibility standards. If you have difficulty accessing the site or have any comments or feedback, please contact the County Commissioners' office by mail, telephone, or email.

powered by getfused

Live URL :