Norfolk County Commissioners celebrate the County's 225th Anniversary


DEDHAM, MA – For Glenn Carew, Chris Perry and Russell Metcalf of Norfolk County’s Engineering Department, Wednesday, June 20, 2018 was a day like many others. Similar to their efforts in other Norfolk County communities, the trio was performing an existing conditions survey on Washington Street in Franklin, at the request of town officials in the community, which included an analysis on the street’s topography, boundaries, utilities and easements.

A few miles up the road in Dedham, however, the Engineering Department’s work on that Wednesday, the 20th day of June meant even more to the Norfolk County Commissioners. The Commissioners had just signed a proclamation celebrating the 225th anniversary of Norfolk County, which was established on June 20, 1793, and the Engineering Department’s efforts that same day was a testament to the County’s continued commitment to each of the County’s 28 constituent communities.

“Today’s Norfolk County Commissioners take great pride in the rich history of Norfolk County and its diverse communities, and we are excited to lead efforts to help celebrate the County’s 225th anniversary,” said Chairman Francis W. O’Brien, of Dedham, one of the County’s three elected commissioners. “It remains an honor for Norfolk County to continue partnering with local communities to provide a range of valuable services. We very much appreciate the dedication of the many County employees who work to ensure that our constituents are served with the highest levels of service, competency and respect.”

The County’s 225th Anniversary Proclamation, as approved by Chairman O’Brien and Commissioners Peter Collins, of Milton, and Joseph Shea, of Quincy, highlighted the County’s enabling legislation signed into law by then-Governor John Hancock in 1792. It also referenced Norfolk County’s reputation as the “County of Presidents” due to four U.S. presidents having been born in the County: President John Adams, from Quincy; President John Quincy Adams, also from Quincy; President John F. Kennedy, from Brookline; and President George H.W. Bush, born in Milton.

The Proclamation also underscored the continued success of the County’s seven departments, including the Commissioners’ Office, the Engineering Department, the Facilities Maintenance Department, the Norfolk County Agricultural High School, Registry of Deeds, the Norfolk County Treasurer’s Office and the Wollaston Recreational Facility.

A full copy of the Proclamation can be read by clicking the following link: